The train of Pelion is well-known as “trenaki” (=little train) of Pelion. The train of Pelion, a dynamic element of culture and development, has left its mark on the history and environment of the area.

SMALL GAUGE RAILWAY
For 76 years (1895-1971) the train climbed the mountain carrying passengers and freight, thus immensely contributing to the rapid development of the area.

Evaristo de Chirico, Italian engineer and father of the famous painter Giorgio de Chirico, was the man who envisioned the manufacturing of the train, on behalf of the Thessalian Railroads Company.

Evaristo de Chirico built one of the best railroads in the world. It was only 60 cm width and passed through the olive groves on the slopes of the Centaurs’ Mountain. This masterpiece is appreciated even nowadays for its high aesthetics, its harmonious form and perfection in its manufacturing.

Itinerary: Lechonia – Milies
In July and August, “Trenaki” runs daily: Departure: Ano Lehonia 10:00 / Arrival: Milies: 11:35
Itinerary: from April to June and September to October it runs on Saturdays, Sundays and holidays.

Information and tickets are available at the train station in Volos (tel: +30 24210-24056) or at the city office Dimitriados 186, Volos (tel: +30 24210 39723).

Visitors can also buy tickets to Lechonia directly at the departure station, but there is a possibility that they have sold out especially in high season.

Share This